New Semester New Adventures!

Well it’s a new semester and once again I am swamped in a sea of uncertainty.  This happens each new semester: trying to figure out how the classes work, how the teacher works, and how to meet and work with fellow students.

This semester I am taking two classes — I really don’t know how adults with kids do more (Kudos to you if you do more!  I couldn’t be you).  The classes are a Computer Science class about computer/human interaction also known as HCI and a CIT class about website front-end development.

So far HCI seems to be about the communication between the computer and user and how as a designer you need to understand how the user will interact with your program or website so that you can make it easily understandable and simple to use for the user.  I find the idea to be very interesting.  I am especially interested in one of our text books called Don’t Make Me Think , Revisited  A Common Sense Approach to Web Usability by Steve Krug.  It’s a very readable book and I find his insights in the book so far have been right on target.  I highly recommend it!

My CIT class is, obviously, about putting together a website. Particularly the part of the website that the user sees and interacts with.  All the HTML, CSS, and some JavaScript that we will need to do to put together a successful site.  We will be designing two web sites and I will post links to them so that you can check them out.  Feedback would be greatly appreciated.

So here I go on my next new adventure!  I would love to hear from you!  What adventures are you currently working on?

Leave a Reply

