Project 2 Event Ad

P2RobertaYoung


Description:  A color event ad promoting a fundraiser using a scanner and Microsoft Word.

Process (Programs, Tools, Skills):  I scanned the picture that I had chosen.  Once I had scanned the picture using my printer, I realized that the picture did not work well with my audience and I had to choose another.  I then used Microsoft Word to size and position the picture and text appropriately.  I used the Insert > Shapes > Line to draw vertical and horizontal lines frequently to check alignment.  I used the Shapes feature to draw the stars and then changed the opacity to give them a less prominent look.  I created several boxes for my text with rounded edges.

Message:  My message was an invitation for the public to attend a fund raiser costume parade to benefit the Plaza Theatre Company, a local non profit live theater.

Audience: My audience is adults that are interested in  supporting the arts in the community.

Color scheme and color names: Complementary. Blue and Orange

Top Thing Learned: I learned that with proper design principles you can put together a professional event ad even if you don’t have the high end design tools.

Title Font Name & Category: Bodoni Standard Black Serif font.

Copy Font Name & Category: AvenirNext Light Sans Serif font.

Scanned images used, sources, original sizes, location of scanner used: Logo used with permission from Plaza Theatre Company’s website plaza-theatre.com. Photo’s Original size 8.5 X 11 taken from the October 2014 issue of Better Homes and Gardens Special Halloween Edition pg 36.   Photo was scanned by my HP Deskjet F2210 all-in-one printer.

logo

costume

One thought on “Project 2 Event Ad

Leave a Reply

